MINUTES CITY OF ST. CHARLES GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS COMMITTEE ALD. MAUREEN LEWIS, CHAIR MONDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 2021

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Lewis at 7:18 p.m.

2. Roll Call

Present: Ald. Vitek, Pietryla, Bessner, Stellato, Silkaitis, Payleitner, Lemke, Gruber

Absent: Ald. Bancroft

3. Omnibus Vote

Items with an asterisk (*) are considered to be routine matters and will be enacted by one motion. There will be no separate discussion on these items unless a council member/citizen so requests, in which event the item will be removed from the consent agenda and considered in normal sequence on the agenda.

4. Finance Department

Finance Director, Chris Minick explained that as part of the budget process, the Government Operations Committee hears funding requests from groups that receive a funding allocation from the City greater than \$25,000 annually. The presentations highlight the operations of the individual groups for the current year, and begin to outline the funding requests for the upcoming fiscal year and funding cycle beginning on May 1, 2021. Jenna Sawicki, Executive Director of the St. Charles Business alliance, and Dr. Anne Becker, Chairman of the St. Charles Visitors Cultural Commission were both present to give their presentations. The St. Charles History Museum will present at the Government Operations Committee Meeting scheduled on February 16, 2021. At the conclusion of the presentations Staff is requesting feedback and direction as to the amount of funding for each group. The amounts will be incorporated in the budget document to be considered for adoption in April. After the adoption of the groups by presenting a funding agreement.

a. Funding request Presentation from the St. Charles Business Alliance in the Amount of \$698,600 for Fiscal Year 2021-2022.

Chris Minick stated that the St. Charles Business Alliance is requesting funding from 2 sources; Special Service Area 1-B in the amount of \$262,000., and a General Fund allocation in the amount of \$436,600. The funding is the same amount as being received in the current year.

Executive Director, Jenna Sawicki presented the funding request for the St. Charles Business Alliance for FY 21/22.

Ald. Bessner asked for clarification about the branding allocation of \$28,000, and if there is something different planned. Jenna answered that it's a housekeeping decision to bundle branding and marketing together. There are no plans for different branding.

Ald. Bessner asked about the Ravenswood sponsorship. Jenna answered that they didn't have to use them because they didn't put on the large event as they have in the past.

b. Funding request Presentation from the Visitors Cultural Commission in the Amount of \$90,000 for Fiscal Year 2021-2022.

Chris Minick explained that the mission of the Commission is to promote the arts and culture in the City of St. Charles. The Commission has been awarded an allocation from the City's General Fund annually. The Commission receives applications from local organizations promoting arts and culture in the City. The Visitors Cultural Commission makes a funding recommendation to the City Council. During FY 20/21, 9 organizations received funding. The amount of funding and the scoring matrix was included wit the information posted for the meeting.

Dr. Anne Becker, Chairman of the Visitors Cultural Commission, presented the funding request for the for FY 21/22. Dr. Becker outlined how the groups utilized the funding allocations they received, and how they adapted to the challenges presented by the Covid-19 pandemic.

Additional Items from Mayor, Council, Staff, or Citizens.

5. Executive Session

- Personnel –5 ILCS 120/2(c)(1)
- Pending Litigation 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(11)
- Probable or Imminent Litigation 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(11)
- Property Acquisition 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(5)
- Collective Bargaining 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(2)
- Review of Executive Session Minutes 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(21)

6. Adjournment

Motion by Ald. Lemke, second by Ald. Gruber to adjourn the meeting at 8:03 p.m.

Roll Call Vote: Ayes: Vitek, Pietryla, Bessner, Stellato, Silkaitis, Payleitner, Lemke, Gruber; Nays: None. Chairman Lewis did not vote as Chairman.

Motion Carried